Surviving the Grief of Losing My Dog

 

Anyone who knows me is aware of my connection with Sydney. She and I were inseparable and spent 24/7 together. When she died, it is undeniable that a part of me died with her. At first I could hardly breathe. I sobbed continuously, and felt completely alone. Then I found that immersing myself in her helped me stay afloat, so I made a little memorybook recalling her life. In six weeks I had finished, and faced the abyss of grief yet again. I started cycling during the tough hours after work, and that helped me think a bit. I decided to do what I hadn’t been able to do while Syd was alive, and took a trip to Southern Utah. I flew to Las Vegas and picked up my rent a car. My trip to see the wonders of Bryce, Zion, Snow Canyon, Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park and other colorful places began. I spent the week with a car and all my camera equipment and had a blast. Syd was always on my mind, but it was distracting to be in such beautiful places and so I relaxed a little. When I returned I started looking at adoptable animals at the local shelters, first online only, then, finally, I visited a few. 2 weeks later and 5 months after the death of my beloved Sydney Bean, I have a new dog.

I must be a lucky soul. My new friend, Bodie (found on Bodega Hwy, Bodie is a shortened version of Bodega; her nickname is much longer: “Bodacious  Bodega”) is a beautiful McNab (?) Border Collie mix, about 5 years old. She is smart, well-trained, responsive, sweet, friendly, unflappable, energetic yet with a calm disposition. We both hit the lottery. I will never be over Sydney and wonder if I will ever stop thinking about her, but I now have a little sunshine in my life again, and that is precious. Thank god for dogs. Thank god for Bodie. Thank god for Sydney Bean.

One thought on “Surviving the Grief of Losing My Dog

  1. So sweet! Loved how you summed it all up. Bodie looks great in her photos. I like the one with the sun on her chest turning her white fur red.

Leave a comment